State Supreme Court Justice Mark A. Montour signed the order a few days ago stating four members of the defunct Community Corrections Advisory Board have legal standing and keep their case moving forward.

The decision allows the four former advisory board members,  Rev. Eugene L. Pierce, Nan L. Haynes, Karima Amin and Charles Culhane. to seek a court order telling the sheriff and his staff to accurately report serious incidents to a state watchdog agency in Albany, or be cited for contempt of court if they fail to do so.

Erie County Attorney’s Office plans to appeal the decision